The well-rounded Twilight Fan

Dear Twilight fandom,

This is the story of how to be a well-rounded Twilight fan.  It IS possible that your husbands, significant others, moms, dad, kids, etc. can be “proud” of you, despite your obsessing over “just a book about Vampires” (who has had someone in their life refer to it as that before? I have, I have!) Moon & I, through reading your letters and amazing emails, have discovered the key to maintaining a healthy, balanced life, while never really leaving the Twilight world.

By using the suggestions described by the following stories, we feel you will emerge a better, fuller, more whole, smarter, sexier, well-rounded person. (Or at least well-rounded in the 5 areas we consider to be most important in life: Music, Parties, Film, Fun and Art.)

Enjoy a snippet of each of these important life areas, brought to you by something Twilight related, below:

Music

Raise your hand if you’ve heard music related to the Twilight saga that sucks. ME. So you can imagine my surprise when one of our readers, Brodie-Ann, sent us “Twilight Wishes and Vampires Kisses” in the form of a song from her band Felinedown that not only DOESN’T suck but is ACTUALLY quite good! Here is her explanation of the song:

This song, Push, is based on New Moon from Bella’s perspective. I created it really as a gift for Stephanie – to thank her for Twilight and all our characters she has really inspired me both personally and as a song writer.

Go ahead, listen! And let Brodie-Ann know what you think in the comments!

Click the image to listen to the music!

Click the image to listen to the music!

Parties

Remember RhoJo and her amazing friends who created the amazing Twilight Drinking Game for a DVD release party that included instructions like: take a drink every time Bella stumbles, falls or stutters? Well, she sent us pictures of the amazing party she threw for her and her friends.

They all wore uniforms of course

They all wore uniforms of course

Pocket Edward really enjoys the vampire shots

Pocket Edward really enjoys the vampire shots

Notice their attention to detail with even the drink that Cardboard Edward prefers

Notice their attention to detail with even the drink that Cardboard Edward prefers

Read about how to be well-rounded in Film, Fun and Art after the jump!

Film

SummerGirl sent us an e-mail because she happened to be at the Little Ashes showing in London this past weekend when the Pattinson family (minus Rob & Patty Pattinson) attended! Here is her account:

I knew [what the Pattinsons looked like] because of the Ellen Show screen captures, and they arrived just as we did.  I stood behind Clare [Mrs. P] as she was getting her tickets!!

“Name please:”  “Pattinson”  *SummerGirl nearly falls over*

There were 4 [of them] to begin with – Clare & Richard plus 2 friends of a similar age.  They all looked very smart.  You know how on the Ellen Show they were casual, suntanned & baring flesh? Well, it is chilly here, and they all had smart clothes on.  Clare had black jeans on (maybe) and some boots. Richard had a smart camel coat on.  They all went to the bar and had white wine.

We went in about 7.15pm —  the seating was unreserved.  They came in right before the movie started and all that was left was front row seats!!!!  Their party had grown  – maybe 9 or 10 people —  and I spotted at least one sister and I think later saw both sisters.  They are either incredibly similar or it was just one girl, with coat on or coat off.

Amazing story! Hope you told my future mother-in-law “hi” for me!

Fun

You know that we feature a “Where in the world is the Edward Action Figure” over on LTR every Sunday, right? Most of those pictures are taken by Moon (because I am WAY too ‘first-hand’ embarrassed to get the good shots like she does!) We probably get 1-2 submissions of reader’s “Adventures” or “Fun Times” with Edward the Action Figure (or Pocket Edward) EVERY DAY.  We occasionally post them, but usually we just keep them in a folder for when we have a bad day and need a laugh.

This latest adventure of action-figure Edward MUST be shared. Action figure Edward got to join Natsu and her friends in the FOURTH ROW at a New Kids on the Block concert!

NKOTB

NKOTB

lyrics

'You've got the right stuff, Eddie! Love the way you turn me on"

Yes, Pocket Edward DID get to attend a meet-and-greet!

Yes, Pocket Edward DID get to attend a meet-and-greet! (See adroable short dark-haired girl? Now notice Edward...)

Natsu shared the best part of the night:

After the group photo was taken, Jonathan took Eddie out of my hands and said, “What’s this?” I was speechless so my friend told him it was Edward from Twilight. He just started to laugh and took a long look at Edward and gave him back to me!!!!!! I COULD HAVE DIED!!!! Seriously, Jonathan Knight manhandled little Eddie!!!!

Art

There’s nothing I like more than to make fun of 2nd-hand embarrassing Twilight-related art. Well, I guess giving out fake-prizes for GOOD Twilight-art is fun too. I’ve really been 2nd-hand embarasssed by the number of AWFUL fan-made posters for New Moon out there right now. I’m sorry- that poster of Rob/Edward with his shirt off and head down? NOT GOOD. Hate me all you want, but that’s how I feel!

Now THIS poster, on the other hand, is amazing. THIS is why I want to see New Moon and THIS is how I hope Kristen portrays Bella. Fingers crossed for a better New Moon (and a TON of fasting and praying, like my friend Lula is doing)

good-newmoon-fake-poster

"He's Gone"

Thanks to our very first reader: ’86 Rabbit for finding this poster made by saveme620

Well, there you have it. 5 examples of how our well-rounded readers are living their lives. Did we miss something? Yes, eating IS important- but we got that covered with vampire shots. Sex? Hmm.. yes I did forget sex, didn’t I?

Sex

Need I say more?

Need I say more?

Love,
UnintendedChoice

It is extremely important that we win the Dazzle Awards. Like Life or Death, y’all. Vote for “Letters to Rob” in “Best Rob Fansite” category. Vote multiple times. Rob wants you to: Dazzle Awards

39 Responses

  1. oh..my..gosh..nkotb AND pocket edward…no words, no words.

  2. I like the New Moon poster with Edward in Volterra but I will hand it to saveme620 for creating the best poster I’ve seen yet. If that is played right (you have it in you K. Stew… PLEASE have it in you!) it’s going to be hard to watch (in the right way, not the STOP blinking and studdering NOW way).

    • You took the words right out of my mouth, Spank!

  3. @Melissa hahahahahhahahaha and ha

    ok so I LURVE the poster of bella on the ground for New Moon..honestly it is my second most fav part of New Moon which is btw my fav book. Ok I just used the word FAV like 5 times so it is time for me to go now!

  4. “Jonathan Knight manhandled little Eddie.”

    Of course he did.

  5. I love this whole letter but I’m LMAO at the NKOTB greeting! Pocked Edward has made it! Hilarious!

  6. So I was just reading the post you linked to on the music, and I don’t think I saw this song suggested by anyone, so I’ll suggest it here.

    “Breathe Me” by Sia

    I heard it on the Vanity Fair outtakes video when Kristen is alone taking pics, and I don’t know how I ever had not heard it.

    Then when I got the song and read New Moon (in 1 day last weekend, hehe), I realized the song is PERFECT for the movie. The period of time after Edward leaves her and she’s still in so much pain but starts to hang out with Jacob. The lyrics are pretty much exactly that. Honestly, I am so gung-ho for this song to be used b/c it IS so perfect, that I’ll be pretty disappointed if they don’t. *sigh*

    Oh, and I wouldn’t mind more Radiohead. I hadn’t heard In Rainbows yet, so when I discovered 15 Steps was on it and that was what I heard at the end of the film, I nabbed it immediately. Radiohead can do no wrong. Srsly.

    Oh, and that poster is amazing. I swear. If they f*ck this movie up, I will be rip sh*t. However, I see many flaws in Twilight, but I still lurve it. It’s a sickness only you all could understand. :-)

    • you haven’t heard In Rainbows yet? Get off our site IMMEDIATELY and go download. NOW!

      • I HADN”T heard In Rainbows. I have now. That song triggered it. :-D

  7. Vampire shots look YUM!

    • How sad is it that the shots were my absolute “Ooh, must do!” part of the post? ;-)

  8. Wow. I love that NM poster. I also love that Natsu took PE to the NKOTB show. That’s commitment– well done, girl.

    I must mention that my dear friend Pamster actually hosted our DVD release party, and she is an excellent hostess. My girl Red tried really really hard to get us Rainier beer for the night, but there’s some stupid law about shipping cheap, skunky, pacific northwest beer. We make do with Rob’s choice – heiney.

    • stupid law against Rainier beer.. what would Charlie THINK?

    • Yep Pamster is the best!!

      Love the poster. LOVE.

      My silly cousin was too straight laced to lie about what was in the package so we made due. I’m sure the Heiney tasted better. I imagine the Rainier to taste something like Miller High Life.

      Side note @ SoWasRed…did I steal your name? If so I would be happy to start going by Schneiderdoodle instead. RhoJo gave me the nickname (which I often get cuz of the red hair and all) and I just rolled with it. Just noticed a comment from you the other day and thought OME I hope I didn’t steal that girl’s screenname.

    • I can only imagine the madness that ensued after those shots were “shotted” with a Cutout Edward in tow…good times I assume!

    • no vitamin R for the party?! who are these people at the post office?

      ps LOVE the shots. how perfs

  9. @Natsu major props for some lil E action at the NKOTB concert! you are a gal after my own heart!

  10. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, ladies, for helping me to feel normal and well-rounded.
    I have been lurking on your sites for a while, and spent a couple of weekend nights reading ALL the archives and every post you ever did. And I felt completely normal doing it!!
    There is not ONE person in my real life that I can talk to about my obsession, so I come here to feel normal. I almost used the expression ‘breaking it down Vanity Fair style’ in conversation yesterday before I stopped myself. And also, thank you for giving me the expression ‘second hand embarrassed’, I HAVE used that in conversation, and it covers the feeling perfectly.
    Also, I live in the PNW, and would be happy to send you empty Vitamin R cans to drink your cocktails out of at your New Moon DVD release party next year. The beer itself is not too bad, comparable to MGD, but tastes good ice cold on a hot day after a lot of yard work…

    Thank you again for saving my sanity, now I won’t need to send Stephanie Meyer my therapy bill. Or divorce lawyer bill, hahahaha! (ok, that isn’t very funny…)

    I heart you.

    • YAY!!!!!!!!!! i love this commenT! thanks for coming out of lurkdom to say all this!!! we heart you back!!!! (good job reading the archives! i’m impressed!)

      hugs!

  11. I have also been reading everything on your brilliant site (and LTR), and never commented on anything (shame on me), but now I just had to give you this link (http://community.livejournal.com/m15m/19551.html) to Cleolinda’s fantastic Twilight in 15 minutes which had me laughing… She’s also written recaps on all the books!

    • oh i must read that! THANKS.. i will go soon.. right now work is KILLING ME.. but thanks for coming out of lurkdom!!! XOXO

    • So many LOLs!

  12. Oh, and also this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooCLnrmIRFo

  13. Thank you SO much to UC and Moon for posting about my song and my band Felinedown- (your Cd’s are in the post lovely ladies!) I heart you both!
    And thank you so much for your awesome pages and support through my OCD (Obbsessive Cullen Disorder) affliction – I couldnt get through without you.;)

    Good Luck in the Dazzle Awards – i will keep voting.
    xox
    Brodie-Ann

    • THANKS Brodie-Ann! we <3 you XOXO

  14. Oh, I LOVE being out of lurkdom! I feel so great, and I read that link to Twilight in 15 minutes and laughed until I cried. Which I have done several times on this site, and LTR, as well. I am also in love with Rob, naturally, and can even claim to have loved him since HP and the GOF. I thought he was so dashing in that, and then I saw the interview where he says how he hated guys like Cedric in school, and I was in love.

    I dream of buying a Pocket Edward and driving over and taking a photo of the Welcome to Forks sign with it, but am still working on the cover story for my family….If it ever happens, you all will be the first to know.

    • you were in love with Rob pre-twi!? nice!!!! you’re a rarity around here! he came FIFTEEEN MINUTES from my house in nov. and i dind’t care. AH! how awful of me!

      • My friend Jello and I saw Goblet of Fire together. I’ll never forget when Cedric first dropped out of that tree and the whole audience gasped at his beauty. I was so excited when I heard Rob was playing Edward. I couldn’t think of a single other actor who was that startlingly beautiful.

        I’m off to follow all the links from this post!

  15. so love this place – going to go vote now (xoxo)

  16. [...] Thanks to Letters to Twilight I now know about Felinedown and their song Push, which is about New Moon from Bella’s [...]

  17. Wow, Pocket Edward got to see NKOTB, lol! Last time I saw them in concert was when I was 4 and my mom said I slept through the whole thing. How do you think Pocket Edward is going to react when the new Pocket Edward with shades comes out? We should make them fight UFC style that would be entertaining. =D

  18. I feel like a total loser for missing this post!!!! Eddie’s gonna kill me! **hides behind chair**

    If it weren’t for UC, I wouldn’t have known it was posted. Thanks chica!

    Eddie has a permanent spot in my purse along side the camera. He’s goes everywhere with me! Obviously, I don’t embarrass easily. :)

    @ Saveme620 ~ One look at that poster and it makes me want to cry! Everything Steph said is wrapped up in this wonderful piece of art. Fantastic job!

    @ La Push – Are you really from that area? I’ll be there in July for another NKOTB concert (yes, I’m a dork) but I was planning a side trip to Forks and Port Angeles so Eddie could visit the family!

    @UC and Moon – I love you guys so much that I voted for you instead of Pattinson Online which I am a paying member. You guys rock!

  19. are they really coming out with pocket edward in the ray-bans? will he also talk and say “what the hell, i’m breaking all the rules now anyway”? i might have to stop being 2nd hand embarrassed and get me a pocket edward if that’s so.

    • breathe me is PERFECT for new moon.
      the action figure at the nkotb show…classy.
      and i need to throw a party like that! i’m going to twicon and me and my bff are planning a party like this<3

      • fun!! let us know how it goes!

    • Yup and he comes in a 2 – pack with Bella, lol.

      http://www.entertainmentearth.com/prodinfo.asp?number=NC20277

  20. [...] really enjoyed your post about being well-rounded, great ideas! I just can’t seem to get enough and it is totally affecting so many parts of my [...]

  21. OMG!!!

    You used my Little Ashes stuff 4 weeks ago and I didn’t even notice.

    Clearly, I must spend less time at LTR and more at LTT.

    xxxxx

    • oh i’m sorry! i try to email ppl when we use their stuff, but sometimes i forget :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

